Homemade Eggnog

Found this recipe on the internet and modified a little to what I had on hand. Will update tomorrow when I know how good (or not) it is!

UPDATE: this is amazing. It’s perfect how I made it because with regular eggnog I feel like it’s so thick you can’t even swallow it, but with this balance of milk and cream it was just right!

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups milk (I used 1%)
  • 5 whole cloves (I used 2 or so teaspoons of allspice)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 12 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups light rum (I used only 1 and 2/3 cups dark rum)
  • 4 cups light cream (I used 1 cup heavy whipping cream and 2 cups 1% milk)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • Instructions:

    Combine milk, cloves/allspice, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, and cinnamon in a saucepan, and heat over lowest setting for 5 minutes. Slowly bring milk mixture to a boil. I had a hard time doing this, so I brought it to almost boiling and combined it earlier because I was afraid of curdling!

    In a large bowl, combine egg yolks and sugar. Whisk together until fluffy. Whisk hot milk mixture slowly into the eggs. Pour mixture into saucepan. So here’s where I made sure the eggs were cooked and no one would get salmonella. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly for 3 minutes, or until thick. Do not allow mixture to boil and make sure that it gets to 165 degrees. My mixture got a little foamy on the top (shown in the last picture) but it went down in the fridge so I wasn’t too worried.

    Strain to remove cloves if you used them, and let cool for about an hour.

    Stir in rum, cream (and milk if using the combo), 2 teaspoon vanilla, and nutmeg. Refrigerate overnight before serving.

    From: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Amazingly-Good-Eggnog/Detail.aspx

    Leave a Reply

