Chicken Salad My Way

I went off book mostly because I don’t like other chicken salads. They’re always packed with mayo, seem slimy for some reason and I generally don’t like them at all. BUT, little baby Baker wanted one today so I looked online for a while and decided to make something up that I knew I would like. I love mayo so that had to stay and I needed to use up some cucumber and tomato I had gotten at the farmers market.

Turns out, I should just make stuff up a lot more.

Yield: about 4 cups

Ingredients:
All of these can be subbed or deleted if you don’t have it.
1 large chicken breast, cooked and chopped
1 med sized cucumber, chopped
1/3 onion, chopped (cannot sub)
5 small or 1 large tomato, chopped
3-4 T blue cheese, crumbled
(and let’s be real, this should have bacon in it)

Dressing:
2-3 T mayo
2 T lemon juice
1 t Dijon mustard
Pinch salt and pepper
I would add some kind of dry herb next time OR you could do an avocado dressing if you have that on hand.

Directions:
After you chop everything up and put it in a med sized bowl, make the dressing by whisking it together and mix those two. Let the salad sit for a few hours if you can, but it also tastes good right away. I like an open faced sandwich for this amount of dressing or just eat it plain!

20120818-111110.jpg

20120818-111120.jpg

20120818-111126.jpg

Leave a Reply

